Another Fab Fam Fun Run


The 17th edition of the Graybeards Family Run once again provided one of the highlights of summer in Rockaway, producing a fabulous night with nearly 500 runners participating in at least one race. Spectators more than doubled race attendance, cheering the runners of all ages, and then convening in the Fr. Grogan Memorial Schoolyard at St. Francis de Sales, to celebrate with food and beverages, music from Gearth, Wind & Fireman, games and children’s rides, raffles and awards.

The children’s races kicked things off at 6:30 p.m. with waves of runners pouring down Rockaway Beach Blvd to receive their ribbons after completing their trek. Rockaway’s Special Athletes followed, drawing a tremendous response from the crowd. The 1-mile set off at 7 a.m. and John Conroy defended his title as he prepares to set off to run for Iona College.  Joe Butler, Sean Mulvihill, William Geron and Brendan Mulvihill completed the top 5. Catherine Dean was female champion followed by Kelsie Price, Noelle Polanco, Abigail Thompson and MaryAnn Polanco. This year’s 5k raced once again featured segments along the Boardwalk, Rockaway Beach Blvd., and Neponsit Avenue. Ron Joseph repeated as champion, winning in at 17:21. Demir Degirmenci also broke 18 minutes, followed by Patrick Goldberg, Joe Redmond, and Tom Patchett. Kathleen Woods is the champion on the female side, taking the plate in 20:42. Mary Edwards was second, Brigit Butler 3rd, Kerry Brady 4th and Devin Parchment 5th.

Age Group winners were as follows:

12 and under- Dylan Touhey, Female-Caitlyn Gross

13-15-Male- Kyle Fabisczewski, Female-Devin Parchment

16-20-Male-Kennedy Kirk

21-29-Male-Brian Long, Female-Olivia O’Neill

30-39-Male-Joe Redmond, Female-Meghan Murphy

40-49-Male-Sean Parchment, Female-Kerry Brady

50-59-Male-Tom Patchett, Female-Christine Goddard

60-69-Male-Danny McCarthy, Female-Martha Diesslin

70-79 Male-Octavio Lopez, Female-Jackie McGinty

Many thanks for this great evening are due to our sponsors—The Rockaway Times, Footlocker (Jeanne Lavin Zocks), The Wave, Jamesons, Bugalou Productions, and Bedford Funding; NYPD and 100th  Pct CAOs Smyth and Moore; NYC Parks; DSNY (Kevin Bagley and JoJo O’Grady); Fr. Bill, Fr. Jim, Fr. Jomar and the SFDS rectory Staff; Race Director Joe Featherston; John Edwards, Ralph Yozzo, Tommy Murphy, Jim McVeigh, Brendan Glynn, John Lovett and Felix Gilroy of Rockaway Gliders/Boardwalk Timing; Billy Egan, Mike Egan and WPE Catering; Allison Bagley, Graybeards Administrative wonder woman Jean Condon; all my fellow Graybeards who turned out to volunteer in droves, and all the runners and their families. Special thanks for all those who bought raffle tickets to support a local family in need.

Mark your calendar for the 18th annual Graybeards Family Run on Friday July 31, 2020.